Guest Testimonials

Don't just take our word for it...

Here's a selection of testimonials from some of our happy guests.

We will return!

Thank you for the great experience we had staying at your hotel.

The room was comfortable and provided everything we needed. It was immaculate and the bed was very comfortable too.

The restaurant experience was superb and the food really beautifully prepared and cooked! You richly deserve your 3* from the AA.

We will return.

Sue Lawson, Mar 2022
Our 5th visit to you in the last 12 months....

This is just to say what a wonderful time we had during our short stay with you (Thursday and Friday) last week.

We very much appreciate all that goes into making a stay so special - staff, the building, the bedroom, the food and the nice touches that make such a difference.

I have been exceedingly fortunate to have travelled with business and stayed in many special hotels, even the Hotel Paris in Monaco. But I really would prefer to stay, and eat, at the Horn of Plenty – if you could just arrange some warm sun.

The food is outstanding, and you manage to maintain such a high and consistent standard.  I think that was our 5th visit to you in the past twelve months, but I assure you there will be more. We’ve already brought two other couples and introduced them to your excellent hotel, and we will be back soon.

Thank you and all your staff once again for a memorable and special time celebrating our anniversary..

David Tucker, Mar 2022
Relaxed and recharged.

Our stay with you was the most relaxing experience in a long time. We were very grateful to receive an upgrade which was beautiful and a very kind gesture.

Everything from the drive up on arrival with the hotel all lit up, to our warm welcome by Gill , the food wow it blew us away & the staff utterly charming, each and everyone. It left us both feeling relaxed & recharged and made my birthday extra special.

We have actually booked to return for our 26th anniversary in September as just the perfect place to mark the occasion on your ESCAPE offer which sounds amazing!

Thank you again & we look forward to seeing you all later this year.

Mrs Cazaly, Mar 2022
We have rarely encountered such attention to detail...

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay at the Horn of Plenty. It was excellent in every respect, from the friendly and informative welcome to the well organised check-out. 

A comfortable and immaculate room commanding a wonderful view, delicious food and wine served by superb staff with a genuine desire to please... we couldn't have asked for anything more! 

Speaking as inveterate hotel users, we have rarely encountered such attention to detail.

Many thanks to you and your team for making our visit so memorable. We certainly intend to return before too long. 

Mr & Mrs Pollard, Feb 2022
Exceeded all of our expectations

The stay that my wife and I had with you at the Horn of Plenty exceeded all of our expectations,we had a wonderful weekends stay for my wife's birthday.

The food was outstanding and all of the staff were just amazing, nothing was too much trouble for them, they always had a smile on their faces and made our weekend perfect.

It was our first stay with you but it definitely will not be our last,already we have been on your website looking for another break. Thank you once again.

 

Mr & Mrs Bowden, Feb 2022
Wonder where to dine?? Here is the answer


Exceeded expectations, and then some! The food and wine were absolutely superb, the staff could not do enough to make our visit special. We have dined all over the world, it many types of cuisine and establishments, this stands above them all. Ash and his team should be proud, they are amazing. I could not fault a single dish. Sad to say, they’ve set a benchmark now, which I doubt can be beaten Thank you so much for a superb evening, we will not hesitate to return

Dr Watson via Tripadvisor, Nov 2021
Stand out staff

Just a short note to thank everybody for making our stay, and my birthday, memorable. From check-in to check-out our experience was way above what we expected. All our needs were catered for along with those of our faithful old hound who enjoyed his treats at dinner and his sausage at breakfast.

The stand out for us were the staff, all of whom were well-trained, smiling, attentive without being intrusive and a credit to your fine establishment... We will be back and look forward to our next visit.

 

Mark Higgs, Oct 2021
An unforgettable stay at a wonderful location


An absolutely outstanding stay at The Horn Of Plenty!
It was my wife’s second 25th birthday, and we could not have been looked after more. Every single member of staff was on the same page - customer well and truly first. I simply cannot fault you!
Now, when it comes to the food, that is on another level altogether…out of this world! From the cooked breakfast (first class) to the duck (world class), you have really got this right!
Thank you for a wonderful weekend. I cannot wait to come back.

M Townsend via Tripadvisor, Oct 2021
A lovely stay in a beautiful spot

This was our first visit to you, and we want to thank you all so much for making our stay such an enjoyable one.  The staff were incredibly helpful, charming and attentive – they really stand out for their friendliness and willingness – and nothing was too much trouble from advice as to where we could get some diesel (!) to allowing us to look at one of the rooms in the coach house with a view to organising a family visit next year.  

We enjoyed all our meals, and the tasting menu was memorable. We loved our very spacious room and bathroom and would have enjoyed the balcony had the weather allowed it! All in all a lovely stay in a beautiful spot, and we look forward to being back with you before too long.

Mrs S Whimster, Oct 2021
Fabulous lunch and service


Beautiful lunch, very attentive and caring.Food was superb, beautifully presented and too beautiful to look at to eat...waitress service excellent.

Carolyne G, Aug 2021
A special place!


I’ve been lucky enough to visit a few times and always had excellent food and service. With its location tucked away on the moor and off the beaten track it perhaps needs to be special. We visited for cream tea which was included a handmade chocolate cup, better than the Ritz! Great quality and very reasonable. 

David Hanson via Tripadvisor, Dec 2020
Lunch


Hubby and I had a belated birthday lunch yesterday (due to the last COVID lockdown) and it was superb. The standard of food is excellent and dining there is a real luxurious experience. It’s also very good value for money considering the little extras included (a mini ham hock terrine and spicy prawn before we started our meal and a mince pie and jelly after we had finished our 3 course lunch). The staff are lovely and it felt completely COVID safe. Can’t wait for another reason to go again. 

Vivienne Catlover via Tripadvisor, Dec 2020
Fantastic stay at your beautiful hotel

Having just returned home we’d like to congratulate you on the fantastic experience you gave us.

It was a special occasion for us and all the little touches you gave us made it just that.

The food was exceptional, as was the room, and the friendly, professional service we received from all your staff was second to none.  Nothing was too much trouble.

Thank you once again and we hope, to see you all again.

Sue & Frank Ravening by email, Oct 2020
Such a treat!

I recently stayed with you for dinner, bed and breakfast for my husband's birthday with two of our good friends.  From start to finish the whole stay was absolutely perfect, beautifully clean rooms, superb setting in your library for pre-dinner drinks followed by an absolutely delicious evening meal. The chef even made a wonderful Happy Birthday out of chocolate for my husband 🙂   The bed was comfy, the room beautifully quiet and the bathroom glorious!  The breakfast in the morning was delicious also, a super start to the day.

Thank you so much, we would love to come back - we live a whole 3 miles away from you but it is such a treat! 

Sarah Hardwick by email, Oct 2020
Probably the best little hotel in the West

Probably the best little hotel in the West. Definitely our favourite. The staff are all genuinely friendly and devoted to making your stay perfect . The food is out of this world and the dining room has been extended by the construction of a large patio area giving you the choice of dining al fresco or indoors. Either way the fantastic views are breathtaking. Although we always stay in the same room I am sure that all of the rooms are equally superb. It is a very special place and unbelievable good value for money.

Tel Hayes via Google, Aug 2020
Always excellent

We have stayed at the hotel many times over the years & it has always been excellent. Amazingly, in these troubled times it has stayed excellent! The room was superb, overlooking a field of sheep & rabbits. The staff included lots of "old" faces & the food is to die for. It is the only place I know where we can eat 3 courses - each one superb - and not have indigestion when we go to bed! It is a VERY classy hotel, but the staff are so friendly & make you feel at home. Nothing is too much trouble for them. We look forward to our next stay!

Stuart Luck via Google, Aug 2020
It's the personal vibe that really makes The Horn extra special.

The room was lovely as was the food.  It's the friendly staff and personal vibe that really makes The Horn extra special, and a place we keep coming back to.... The personal relationships are memorable.

Rona and Ed, Feb 2020
Ruby Wedding Lunch

Just a quick note to say how much we appreciated the effort all the staff put into making our day really special on the 21st December. 

Judging by the number of people who’ve made very favourable comments about the wonderful food and the whole atmosphere in general, everyone thoroughly enjoyed themselves.  Please say a very big thank you to everyone on our behalf, for making our Ruby Wedding lunch a day to remember.

Julie Friend, Jan 2020
We've been coming for over 50 years!

A huge thank you to you and your team for makig our party such a great success.  The food was excellent, service outstanding and the room looked amazing!  Shirna, Natasha and Reception were so helpful and efficient.  I have to say I have been coming to The Horn of Plenty for over 50 years, and you shoudl be very proud to have maintained such high and professional standards.

Michael Spiers by letter, Jan 2020
One in a million!

All staff greet you with a smile.  Views and gardens are a joy.  Food delicious.

The anticipation of returning has given us so much to look forward to.

Your hotel is truly one in a million.

Mr & Mrs Fisher, Nov 2019
Great visit

As always, a great visit to this wonderful hotel.  Great service, food and comfortable room.  Long may it continue.

Irene & Stuart Munday, Oct 2019
So glad we found you!

First stay at this wonderful hotel – so glad we found you.  Had a great time with wonderful staff, great food and a very comfortable bed.  Will definitely be coming back. Thanks for everything.

Ray & Carol Brock, Oct 2019
Wonderful lunch

I’d been meaning to come here for years. Went today for lunch and absolutely loved it. Beautiful restaurant, great service, and amazing, well priced food. The restaurant has great picture windows overlooking the Tamar valley and the restaurant was bright and airy. It had just the right combination of sophistication and laid back elegance

saljim2017, Tripadvisor, Jun 2019
Amazing

Love this place, Fabulous food, great staff and the most wonderful views, its so very relaxing and peaceful, will certainly visit again, would love to stay over next time i visit.

Patricia M via Tripadvisor, May 2019
Smile of Plenty

There is a phenomenon at The Horn of Plenty which is based on good old fashioned service and a desire to please all guests with respect and good humour.
The attention to detail in helping my wife and I to make our 40th Wedding Anniversary special was faultless and the management and staff are to be commended.
Definitely on our list of places to revisit and looking forward to tasting the excellent cuisine again

Ross E, Tripadvisor, Apr 2019
Our daughter’s wedding

The Horn of Plenty was the perfect venue for our daughter’s wedding last week. The setting was fabulous with all guests commenting on the amazing views. The food was first class and the service excellent. We could not have had a better venue for such a special family occasion.

Sheilaj687, Tripadvisor, Apr 2019
Excellent in every respect

Having known the Horn of Plenty for many decades, I can honestly say that it seems to be better every time. Whilst I am local and therefore never stayed, the food was delicious, well presented and lived up to previous visits. Excellent in every respect, great views, clean, superb food, polite and efficient staff.

Rita W via Tripadvisor, Mar 2019
Our 7th visit….

One of our favourite places. This was our seventh visit and we are never disappointed. The views from The Horn across the Tamar Valley are amazing. The staff do their very best to please and the food is outstanding. We will definitely be back again soon.

Kieron Pauley via Facebook, Feb 2019
Wow!

Had a fantastic night away at The Horn of Plenty. The room was beautiful and massive, the staff were friendly and couldn’t do enough to help and the food was superb! We will definitely be back, hopefully sooner rather than later!

Sophie via Tripadvisor, Jan 2019
What a treat!

A group of 6 of us went last night for a special treat. And what a treat. The menu was personalised for our occasion, the choice was great. I wanted everything on the menu. We all had different options and each of us agreed that the food was special. Plus beautifully presented canapes. And a crab bisque to get us started. I loved the ambiance of the restaurant and we were made to feel special. Thank you.

Lesley via Tripadvisor, Jan 2019
Just as it should be ….

As always, we had a fabulous couple of days at the Horn of Plenty. It’s easy to see why you have so many guests who return again and again. Everything is always just as it should be: a wonderful room, a warm welcome, service that strikes exactly the right note of friendliness and efficiency, the MOST delicious food … why would anyone look elsewhere?

Alison and John, Nov 2018
A lesson in perfection

We stayed this week, and it was utterly divine!

If ever a hotelier wanted to learn about excellent customer service, or a chef on how to produce a perfect dish time every time, then come here for the ultimate lesson.

The attention to detail, the staff on hand were second to none. My husband has to have a particular diet and they consulted him at every meal, advising on best things to have ….. We’ve never stayed anywhere that has been so perfect in every way.

Timmisty via Tripadvisor, Nov 2018
The personal touch …

The personal touch is really what set this venue apart from others we looked at. You’re made to feel that the day is truly unique to you and nothing is too much trouble. The views are amazing and the food is out of this world; head chef Ashley really works with you to design a menu that reflects you. From the canapes, to the wedding breakfast and petits fours all the way to the evening food, there was nothing that was not a pleasure to eat. The rooms are fantastic with many offering views across the valley and beyond.

David and Craig, Oct 2018
The best meal I have ever had!

The best meal I have ever had ! Salmon ravioli with Hake fabulous and a blackberry and apple bavouris as desert was scrumptious. The service was beyond reproach along with a bottle of New Zealand chardonnay. The room we had was spacious and comfortable with a balcony and a gorgeous uninterrupted view of the Tamar valley… what a view. A must visit for foodies!!!

Jonathan Griffiths, Google review, Sep 2018
Excellent!

“You have cornered the local market in peace, tranquility and excellence”.

LH, guest feedback form, Aug 2018
Food and service of the century!

Visited with my girlfriend recently after local recommendations. It’s a beautiful place with breathtaking views. The staff are very attentive (Sara in particular) and happy in their jobs. The food is the best either of us have EVER had. It was a pleasure to dine here. The dishes are well thought out, spectacular in their presentation and taste like heaven.

Jon M, Tripadvisor review, Jul 2018
Amazing!

The Horn of Plenty is a beautiful venue with gorgeous views across the valley. The house has lots of charm and character and all of the rooms are beautifully decorated with individual character. It doesn’t matter what time of year you visit, it’s a fabulous venue.

We held a celebration lunch here in 2016 for a family birthday and fell in love with the place. The food is incredible, the staff are always friendly and helpful. Nothing is ever too much trouble.

We had our wedding on 4th June this year and the team did not let us down. Leading up to the big day, Julie and the weddings team guided us through the build up and were always on hand to answer any questions and give advice without hesitation. On the day, Shirna and the front of house team delivered a perfect day for us from start to finish.

Another selling point was the fact that we were able to sit down with Chef Ashley and create our own personalised menu. From the reception canapes right the way through to our evening set up, the food was impeccable! All of our guests commented on how amazing it all was.

We cannot recommend the Horn of Plenty enough. It’s become our favourite place!

Palder, Tripadvisor review, Jul 2018
Close to faultless….

This small hotel is as close to faultless as you can get. The staff do everything possible to make you feel welcome and at home, the best rooms are spacious, individual and comfortable and the food is exceptional.

Ben, Tripadvisor review, Apr 2018
So glad we chose The Horn of Plenty

Thank you to you all for making Beccy and Allan’s wedding day so perfect.  All the arrangements, setting up, the delicious food and drinks went so well.  All the staff were BRILLIANT.  They worked so hard and there was nothing that was too much trouble for them.

Everything went off seamlessly and we could not have been happier with the results of all their hard work. Their suggestions and help on the day made it all so perfect.

We are so glad we chose The Horn of Plenty for this special day.  The feedback that we have received so far from our guests was all positive – how much they had enjoyed themselves, what a beautiful setting and how lovely the hotel was, how amazing the staff were.   

Beccy's Mum via email, Nov 2017
Exceeded every expectation

I got married here on the 20/10/17, the staff went above and beyond and exceeded every expectation. Thank you for your kindness, patience and making my day perfect!

The food is the best I have ever eaten, the grounds are beautiful, rooms gorgeous and its dog friendly!

You will not be disappointed with a visit to this beautiful gem.  I can’t wait to go back! 

Elly via Facebook, Oct 2017