Guest Testimonials

Don't just take our word for it...

Here's a selection of testimonials from some of our happy guests.

Ruby Wedding Lunch

Just a quick note to say how much we appreciated the effort all the staff put into making our day really special on the 21st December. 

Judging by the number of people who’ve made very favourable comments about the wonderful food and the whole atmosphere in general, everyone thoroughly enjoyed themselves.  Please say a very big thank you to everyone on our behalf, for making our Ruby Wedding lunch a day to remember.

Julie Friend, Jan 2020
We've been coming for over 50 years!

A huge thank you to you and your team for makig our party such a great success.  The food was excellent, service outstanding and the room looked amazing!  Shirna, Natasha and Reception were so helpful and efficient.  I have to say I have been coming to The Horn of Plenty for over 50 years, and you shoudl be very proud to have maintained such high and professional standards.

Michael Spiers by letter, Jan 2020
One in a million!

All staff greet you with a smile.  Views and gardens are a joy.  Food delicious.

The anticipation of returning has given us so much to look forward to.

Your hotel is truly one in a million.

Mr & Mrs Fisher, Nov 2019
Great visit

As always, a great visit to this wonderful hotel.  Great service, food and comfortable room.  Long may it continue.

Irene & Stuart Munday, Oct 2019
So glad we found you!

First stay at this wonderful hotel – so glad we found you.  Had a great time with wonderful staff, great food and a very comfortable bed.  Will definitely be coming back. Thanks for everything.

Ray & Carol Brock, Oct 2019
Wonderful lunch

I’d been meaning to come here for years. Went today for lunch and absolutely loved it. Beautiful restaurant, great service, and amazing, well priced food. The restaurant has great picture windows overlooking the Tamar valley and the restaurant was bright and airy. It had just the right combination of sophistication and laid back elegance

saljim2017, Tripadvisor, Jun 2019
Amazing

Love this place, Fabulous food, great staff and the most wonderful views, its so very relaxing and peaceful, will certainly visit again, would love to stay over next time i visit.

Patricia M via Tripadvisor, May 2019
Smile of Plenty

There is a phenomenon at The Horn of Plenty which is based on good old fashioned service and a desire to please all guests with respect and good humour.
The attention to detail in helping my wife and I to make our 40th Wedding Anniversary special was faultless and the management and staff are to be commended.
Definitely on our list of places to revisit and looking forward to tasting the excellent cuisine again

Ross E, Tripadvisor, Apr 2019
Our daughter’s wedding

The Horn of Plenty was the perfect venue for our daughter’s wedding last week. The setting was fabulous with all guests commenting on the amazing views. The food was first class and the service excellent. We could not have had a better venue for such a special family occasion.

Sheilaj687, Tripadvisor, Apr 2019
Excellent in every respect

Having known the Horn of Plenty for many decades, I can honestly say that it seems to be better every time. Whilst I am local and therefore never stayed, the food was delicious, well presented and lived up to previous visits. Excellent in every respect, great views, clean, superb food, polite and efficient staff.

Rita W via Tripadvisor, Mar 2019
Our 7th visit….

One of our favourite places. This was our seventh visit and we are never disappointed. The views from The Horn across the Tamar Valley are amazing. The staff do their very best to please and the food is outstanding. We will definitely be back again soon.

Kieron Pauley via Facebook, Feb 2019
Wow!

Had a fantastic night away at The Horn of Plenty. The room was beautiful and massive, the staff were friendly and couldn’t do enough to help and the food was superb! We will definitely be back, hopefully sooner rather than later!

Sophie via Tripadvisor, Jan 2019
What a treat!

A group of 6 of us went last night for a special treat. And what a treat. The menu was personalised for our occasion, the choice was great. I wanted everything on the menu. We all had different options and each of us agreed that the food was special. Plus beautifully presented canapes. And a crab bisque to get us started. I loved the ambiance of the restaurant and we were made to feel special. Thank you.

Lesley via Tripadvisor, Jan 2019
Just as it should be ….

As always, we had a fabulous couple of days at the Horn of Plenty. It’s easy to see why you have so many guests who return again and again. Everything is always just as it should be: a wonderful room, a warm welcome, service that strikes exactly the right note of friendliness and efficiency, the MOST delicious food … why would anyone look elsewhere?

Alison and John, Nov 2018
A lesson in perfection

We stayed this week, and it was utterly divine!

If ever a hotelier wanted to learn about excellent customer service, or a chef on how to produce a perfect dish time every time, then come here for the ultimate lesson.

The attention to detail, the staff on hand were second to none. My husband has to have a particular diet and they consulted him at every meal, advising on best things to have ….. We’ve never stayed anywhere that has been so perfect in every way.

Timmisty via Tripadvisor, Nov 2018
The personal touch …

The personal touch is really what set this venue apart from others we looked at. You’re made to feel that the day is truly unique to you and nothing is too much trouble. The views are amazing and the food is out of this world; head chef Ashley really works with you to design a menu that reflects you. From the canapes, to the wedding breakfast and petits fours all the way to the evening food, there was nothing that was not a pleasure to eat. The rooms are fantastic with many offering views across the valley and beyond.

David and Craig, Oct 2018
The best meal I have ever had!

The best meal I have ever had ! Salmon ravioli with Hake fabulous and a blackberry and apple bavouris as desert was scrumptious. The service was beyond reproach along with a bottle of New Zealand chardonnay. The room we had was spacious and comfortable with a balcony and a gorgeous uninterrupted view of the Tamar valley… what a view. A must visit for foodies!!!

Jonathan Griffiths, Google review, Sep 2018
Excellent!

“You have cornered the local market in peace, tranquility and excellence”.

LH, guest feedback form, Aug 2018
Food and service of the century!

Visited with my girlfriend recently after local recommendations. It’s a beautiful place with breathtaking views. The staff are very attentive (Sara in particular) and happy in their jobs. The food is the best either of us have EVER had. It was a pleasure to dine here. The dishes are well thought out, spectacular in their presentation and taste like heaven.

Jon M, Tripadvisor review, Jul 2018
Amazing!

The Horn of Plenty is a beautiful venue with gorgeous views across the valley. The house has lots of charm and character and all of the rooms are beautifully decorated with individual character. It doesn’t matter what time of year you visit, it’s a fabulous venue.

We held a celebration lunch here in 2016 for a family birthday and fell in love with the place. The food is incredible, the staff are always friendly and helpful. Nothing is ever too much trouble.

We had our wedding on 4th June this year and the team did not let us down. Leading up to the big day, Julie and the weddings team guided us through the build up and were always on hand to answer any questions and give advice without hesitation. On the day, Shirna and the front of house team delivered a perfect day for us from start to finish.

Another selling point was the fact that we were able to sit down with Chef Ashley and create our own personalised menu. From the reception canapes right the way through to our evening set up, the food was impeccable! All of our guests commented on how amazing it all was.

We cannot recommend the Horn of Plenty enough. It’s become our favourite place!

Palder, Tripadvisor review, Jul 2018
Close to faultless….

This small hotel is as close to faultless as you can get. The staff do everything possible to make you feel welcome and at home, the best rooms are spacious, individual and comfortable and the food is exceptional.

Ben, Tripadvisor review, Apr 2018
So glad we chose The Horn of Plenty

Thank you to you all for making Beccy and Allan’s wedding day so perfect.  All the arrangements, setting up, the delicious food and drinks went so well.  All the staff were BRILLIANT.  They worked so hard and there was nothing that was too much trouble for them.

Everything went off seamlessly and we could not have been happier with the results of all their hard work. Their suggestions and help on the day made it all so perfect.

We are so glad we chose The Horn of Plenty for this special day.  The feedback that we have received so far from our guests was all positive – how much they had enjoyed themselves, what a beautiful setting and how lovely the hotel was, how amazing the staff were.   

Beccy's Mum via email, Nov 2017
Exceeded every expectation

I got married here on the 20/10/17, the staff went above and beyond and exceeded every expectation. Thank you for your kindness, patience and making my day perfect!

The food is the best I have ever eaten, the grounds are beautiful, rooms gorgeous and its dog friendly!

You will not be disappointed with a visit to this beautiful gem.  I can’t wait to go back! 

Elly via Facebook, Oct 2017