Gift Vouchers
Email Signup

Receive our e-newsletters, special offers and latest updates. Just enter your email address below.

Your Email:


Boutique hotel reviews Recommended by the Hotel Guru as one of the best hotels in Devon
Johansens
Britains Finest
Taste Of West
Johansens

Wedding testimonials

 

Fabulous, fabulous, fabulous. Accommodation wonderful, wedding organised and carried out to perfection. Setting beautiful. The only thing better than the food and the accommodation was the staff, an absolute credit and we cannot sing their praises loud enough.

You have made our day and our wedding. Thank you to all at your wonderful Country House Hotel!

Lynzi and Colin, March 2014

 

We would just like to drop you and your fantastic team a line and say thank you so, so much for an amazing, wonderful and perfect day.  The welcome, service, food, total hospitality along with a beautiful, comfortable venue with stunning views made our day so complete!  You so deserve the fantastic reputation you have.  We will continue to blow your trumpet and return as soon as we can! 

Alice’s Mum, September 2013

 

Words cannot express how amazing our special day was at your venue.  The whole weekend exceeded our expectations.  From the moment we arrived on the Friday, you and your team were more than welcoming and nothing was too much trouble.  Our guests commented on how beautiful the house is and how exceptional the food was.  Julie, your organisation meant the day ran perfectly; neither of us were under any pressure and we enjoyed the day immensely!  A BIG thank you.  We are already planning when we will come back for our first anniversary!  A heartfelt thank you!

Mr & Mrs Richard and Laura Syree, August 2013

 

 We would like to thank you and your staff for giving us the best wedding day we could have wished for.  You looked after our guests and ourselves like’ lords and ladies’ from the moment we arrived until we left.


The staff were very courteous and attentive, yet never in the way.  Our food was exquisite, we cannot praise your chefs highly enough for both taste and presentation.  Specialities prepared for our dairy intolerant guest, over every course were a real credit to your team.


The ambience of your hotel, the staff, the food, the views makes you well worthy of the ‘Best Wedding Venue in Devon for 2013’ in our opinion.  
Thank you very much

Debs and Phil, May 2013

 

Dear Julie and the “Angels from The Horn of Plenty”

 We just wanted to say a massive thank you to you all for helping us have a wedding far beyond our expectations.... and let’s be honest, our expectations were pretty high in the first place.

 We were fully aware the food would be second to none.  What we hadn’t banked upon was the way you and your charming staff picked up any loose strands in our planning (eg the presentation of the sweet station) and sorted it all out without even coming up to us!

 All our guests from London now have the impression that everyone in Devon is like your staff.  Ha!  All evening they were saying how polished the service was and how beautiful the hotel is, with attention to detail in the tiniest of things.  Oh and an ace wedding cocktail.  WELL DONE!

 Thank you, thank you, thank you!

  Alex and SimonApril 2013

 

  I got married at the Horn of Plenty on the 7th June 2012 and don’t normally write reviews, but just felt I had to let the world know what a gem of a place it is. The setting is just perfect with far reaching views over the Tamar Valley, The hotel is lovely, decorated in a reserved country chique style which make it homely and welcoming. We had room number four which was amazing the bed could have slept a family of six the bathroom with the sunken bath by the window was very special. Having been in contact with Julie and her staff over a number of months arranging our big day, I can not thank them enough for the very high standard of service and also the can do attitude -  nothing was too much trouble.

The day itself was the most perfect day.  Everything we had asked for was spot on, the weather on the day was stormy to say the least but because of the venue and service it did not have any effect.


The food all day was first class and the wedding breakfast was exceptional and people are still talking about the sweet now, I feel it is only a matter of time until the venue is awarded a Michelin star, yes that good. The bar although not massive was well staffed and the drinks were priced at hotel prices as expected, in the evening we had 57 people and the building was rocking to the lively entertainment.

 All in all we had the perfect wedding in the perfect venue run by the most attentive, helpful staff you could wish for.  Would i recommend it to people staying for a overnight package or a full wedding?   I would without hesitation and will use it again for a special occasion and of course evening meals and the famous cream tea !!

 It is a very special venue run by very special people, it is not a uber modern soulless hotel,  it feels like a family home. Thank you for making mine and Diane's day one we will never forget.

 Frank and Diane, June 2012

 

 Dear Julie and Damien and the team at the Horn of Plenty

We’ve just arrived home to a letter box of thank you letters and cards from our friends and family, received before we have even had the opportunity to send our thank you’s to them for our wedding presents! If it wasn’t clearer in our mind the messages certainly reminded us of what a truly spectacular event the Horn Of Plenty put on for us and our quests.

From the very outset Simon and I fell in love with the Horn of Plenty as a venue for our wedding. A perfectly English country home with a magnificent backdrop, a venue with true elegance and style. Over the last year as we have imagined and dreamed of what the day could be like we have explained our wishes and needs to the team, unexpectedly dropped in to discuss, and always made to feel welcome. We have always been met with flexibility and creativity on all of our requirements, ever changing and moving, you guys always kept up with us. (Sometimes you were ahead of us!) Great ideas came from you all on wine, champagne, after dinner drinks, menu, menu and menu again, falconry, entertainment, fireworks, getting ready on the day, florists, marquee supply, Friday night send off, itinerary, to mention a few....

The day went without a hiccup, Simon and I couldn’t believe how well it all flowed. Even our guests have marvelled on the efficiency and friendliness of all of the team. Personally we’d like to thank Sharon for her attention throughout our wedding experience with the Horn of Plenty. Thank you also, to the chefs (Stuart, Peter and team) who did a wonderful job on delivering to the mouth watering menu. I believe a few of our guests even personally thanked them on the night for such a great experience.
 

We really felt a uniquely cosy feeling for such a massive occasion and that is down to the effort and dedication of the team working pretty much all day and night to deliver beyond our expectations.
 

 We are so pleased to have received an exceptional service throughout the preparation and on the Wedding day and would highly recommend the venue and the Horn of Plenty team .
 

For us it was the wedding we dreamed of and if given the opportunity to do it all again, we wouldn’t change a thing.

See you all very soon,
Kind Regards
Simon, Victoria and Sydney

 

Other kind words from our lovely brides and grooms

“A big thank you to you and your team for making our wedding day so special.  All your staff were so welcoming and caring, as well as being very efficient.  And your organisation and attention to detail were superb.  Please pass our thanks onto Scott for the fabulous food.  We will definitely come back for another stay”

Lisa and John, September 2013

“The day was amazing.  We could not have asked for anything more and could not have found a better venue.  You were so helpful and lovely to work with, and also so flexible and accommodating to our last  minute needs.    Many of our guests have commented on how beautiful the venue is, and how amazing the food was.  We will be back!”

Helen and Dean, July 2013

 

 "The best day ever. From the first meeting with Julie, nothing was too much trouble for her or any of her colleagues. All the staff were friendly whilst remaining professional at all times.
We were married in the library which was the right size and beautifully prepared for us.
The food was simply superb - perfectly cooked, good sized portions and the presentation was excellent. They even catered really well for our children.
 

And to make it even better it was excellent value and no where near as expensive as our guests may have believed!"

 Steve and Kerry, December 2012

  

"Thank you all for making sure that our wedding day was absolutely perfect in every way..... The service was exceptional from start to finish, the food was out of this world (a fact confirmed again and again by our guests), the location and the setting was stunning, the attention to detail was incredible.  If we were lucky enough to have the opportunity to do it all over again, we wouldn't change a thing.  Without exception, all our guests proclaimed it was the best wedding they had ever been to.  What more could we ask for?  Many, many thanks"

 Paul and Abi, July 2012 

 

 "Thank you Julie and all the staff for making our day more special than we could have ever imagined.  From the day we chose The Horn, Julie has always been there to help with every enquiry.  Our guests could not believe how beautiful the house was and also the views... it really is a gem!

I cannot put into words how lovely the food was.... many people said it was the best food they have ever had at a wedding.  Nothing was too much trouble for the staff....

There was nothing about our wedding day we would have changed, it was perfect"

 Emma and Dylan, July 2012

 

"The best wedding venue in the West Country"

 Nikki and Ian, May 2012

 

“You were all absolutely amazing!  Thanks for all the sensationally, exquisitely wonderful food you created..... and a huge big thank you for helping make the wedding amazingly non-stressful.  The day flowed with seamless perfection; stunning attention to detail.  Brilliant organisation.  Fabulous staff.  Magical venue and simply glorious food/wine.  Sheer perfection – for which we thank you all from the bottom of our hearts” 

 Suzanna and Paul, April 2012

 

 “Everything was absolutely wonderful, a truly “perfect day”.... We have had so many people talking about the food ... our grateful thanks to all the staff.... we could not fault your service” 

 Amy and Mike, April 2012

 

"Julie and her team at The Horn of Plenty are truly amazing. From the moment that we stepped through the door in March 2011 to view the venue, right up until the moment came to leave after our wonderful wedding, nothing was too much trouble. Julie made planning our wedding easy and my husband and I cannot thank her enough for all that she did.

The staff on the day were brilliant, all of our guests commented on how polite and professional they were. We honestly cannot speak highly enough about The Horn of Plenty and our experience of holding our wedding there.

One of our guests mentioned to us after the wedding that 'it felt like you were getting married at a friends house' and I think that sums it up perfectly!  My husband and I cannot wait to go back!  

“Thank you all for making our wedding day truly wonderful.  We couldn’t have wished for anything more.... we love the fact that we have such a beautiful place to come back to and celebrate the best day of our lives” 

 Mandy and Stu, April 2012

 

“We loved every minute with you, from arriving the day before to all the tears packing up to go home.  The Horn of Plenty was everything we dreamed it would be and more.  We feel so lucky to have found somewhere so special”   

 Christina and Darren, March 2012

 

“A massive thank you... for making our wedding so incredibly perfect!” 

 Mike and Maggie, March 2012

 

 "Your attention to detail and the impeccable service from your staff made for a perfect day, one that we will never forget. ” 

 Bev and Sophie, Oct 2011

 

“You all went above and beyond, and it truly felt like our home ... it was quite simply perfect. The meal was outstanding, your staff were attentive, caring, interested and simply wonderful, and we couldn’t have asked for more....”  

 Rory and Dulcie, Aug 2011

 

 “The perfect venue for our wedding; with a fantastic setting, a beautiful building and amazing food.  Not to mention the helpful and friendly staff. ...The food was nothing short of delectable....The perfect day! “  

 Jason and Emily,  Aug 2011

 

“We could not have asked for more” 

 Alex and Sarah, July 2011

 

“A magical day” 

 Deb and James,  June 2011

 

"Thank you so much for a fantastic wedding, you've been brillliant xxx"   

 Lindsay and Neil, May 2011

  

"Thank you for the wonderful wedding.... your professional approach and laughter throughout made working with you a joy...” 

 Jeff and Joon, April 2011


 
 
 
 

 

The Horn Of Plenty
Country House Hotel & Restaurant, Gulworthy, Tavistock, Devon, PL19 8JD
Tel: 01822 832528 - Email: info@thehornofplenty.co.uk
Privacy policy
Website Design and Development by Clockwork Marketing | Cookie policy